Reflection 4 – Using the technology Scratch

scartachDigital fluency can be defined as “the ability to use digital technologies in a confident manner” (Howell, 2012, p. 243). To participate in the digital world we all require some level of this. As a future teacher I will need to be as digitally fluent as possible. I see my role is to facilitate the development of students’ digitally fluency by building on and expanding their existing skills. I see learning in the digital world as a collaborative process between teachers and students.

einsteinThis week my task was to create a Scratch Animation. I found the creation of my Scratch game a difficult process. I understand as a future teacher I will need to provide students with a wide range of technological experiences. I see my challenge as providing on the one hand technological experiences which I am confident in using and on the other hand technological experiences that will challenge me and also the students. Although I had difficulty using Scratch, some students would find this easy. Using this program would be an opportunity for collaboration between myself and my students.

Scratch is a creative practical application that supports the development of cognitive processes that could form the basis of an engaging learning experience.

References
Betchablog (2010). Teaching Kids To Think Using Scratch (image).
Retrieved from
Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT. Digital Pedagogies for
Collaboration and Creativity. Melbourne, Australia: Oxford University Press.
WeKosh (2014). Daily Motivational Quotes “Quotes on Opportunity“. Einstein
(image). Retrieved from

 


Leave a Reply

